Pink Shirt Day

I know, I’m late for Pink Shirt Day, but I think I have a valid excuse as I was traveling. I visited five states in two days, and no, I didn’t fly. We stayed two days in Kansas and then we drove back to Saskatchewan. It was a fun, if quick trip. I met some great people and it to ride some nice horses! 

On our trip, I decided to decorate a pink shirt (on paper) to keep the boredom at bay and put my own spin on raising awareness about bullying. I’ve been on a kick about teaching empathy in the classroom lately. I am a firm believer that empathy is a key skill in the digital age, and we need to teach our students to have empathy in addition to digital citizenship and safety. 

Words are, in my not-so-humble opinion, our most inexhaustible source of magic. Capable of both inflicting injury, and remedying it.


This is one of my favourite quotes from the Harry Potter series. To me, this quote shows the power of words. Words matter. Words can hurt, but words can also help, heal, and show kindness. 

As teachers, our words matter. We don’t just teach content, we model behaviours through our actions and words. We ourselves can model skills such as empathy and kindness. 

We don’t just teach content, we model behaviours through our actions and words.

Students see their teachers often, just about every weekday, it is feasible that they see and model themselves to an extent based on our behaviour in the classroom. So let’s make it an initiative to model the behaviours we wish to see on our students. Let’s make Pink Shirt Day everyday. Let’s remember our words matter. 

Leave a Reply

