Feedly Feeds My Need-To-Know

So I made the plunge, I set up my Feedly account (I even downloaded the app!) and I have to say that this app somewhat confuses me. It isn’t always easy to add a blog to my Feedly, but after some tweaking I do often accomplish that goal.

I really like the idea for this service because (in true Ravenclaw fashion) I really like to learn new things all the time. Feedly helps me keep all my sources in one convenient location, which saves time and data for this wandering substitute teacher.

thefeedly

A glimpse of my Feedly

Because it isn’t always simple to add an interesting blog to Feedly, that limits what I add to my feed. In addition to the ease of adding a blog or source to Feedly, I find content via my PLN on Twitter and other educator’s blogs. I do check the source (as in, is the blog a fellow educator or professional?) and I read a few posts to see if the content is relevant to me.

I have a few categories, Education, Ed Tech and Social Studies to cater to my broad interest and few specific professional interests of mine. Where Feedly might be limiting my PLN is the fact that a free account can only follow 100 feeds (I have over 30 already!) so I might have to pick my feeds carefully as I continue to use this service.

One source that I have followed since my undergraduate days is History Tech. It is a blog focused on Social Studies and technology. He usually posts some great resources and great ideas to integrate in the classroom. In addition to blog posts, he also has podcasts, videos and webinar resources so that his subscribers can get a variety of information in a variety of sources. For example,  he uses a dorsal fin analogy to get students engaged in historical thinking, not just the memorization of dates, names and esoteric facts that most high school students will forget at the end of the semester. He outlines several different ways this strategy can be used within a classroom setting, at multiple levels. This is gold, I always find great social studies ideas on Twitter and Pinterest only to have to tweak it for the grade level which I am teaching. Sometimes it just doesn’t work, but Glenn outlines different levels of the strategy so it is useful for different grade levels.

Another source that I follow is OverDrive Blogs. I just started following this source the other day but the feed itself seems to talk about free online sources, books to integrate into class and tools for the educator. I am excited to see what tools and new ideas this feed will bring to me! Sometimes I have a brainwave of a cool idea or concept that I want to teach in class, but I am unable to find sources for it (or reading materials for my students) and I think OverDrive might be able to help me with this problem in the future.

What are some of your favorite sources on Feedly?

 

Leave a Reply

